

PRESS RELEASE

Olympic Hopefuls and National Champions Named as Finalists for 90th AAU James E. Sullivan Award presented by Eastbay

ORLANDO, Fla. (March 23, 2020) – The Amateur Athletic Union (AAU) announced today the nominees for the title of top amateur athlete have been narrowed to a panel of ten finalists for the 90th James E. Sullivan Award presented by Eastbay.

Those athletes are as follows:

- Evita Griskenas, Rhythmic Gymnastics, USA Rhythmic Gymnastics
- Grant Holloway, Track and Field, University of Florida
- Markus Howard, Men's Basketball, Marquette University
- Sabrina Ionescu, Women's Basketball, University of Oregon
- Trevor Lawrence, Football, Clemson University
- Spencer Lee, Men's Wrestling, University of Iowa
- Dana Rettke, Women's Volleyball, University of Wisconsin
- Kyla Ross, Gymnastics, University of California Los Angeles
- Megan Taylor, Women's Lacrosse, University of Maryland
- Abbey Weitzeil, Women's Swimming, University of California Berkeley

In light of the ongoing situation with COVID-19 ("Coronavirus"), the Amateur Athletic Union (AAU) has decided to cancel the on-site ceremony portion of the AAU James E. Sullivan Award to be held at the New York Athletic Club. Instead, the AAU will recognize the accomplishments of the finalists and announce the winner virtually. More information to follow.

"The collegiate season was drastically cut short for these outstanding athletes. Nonetheless, the AAU wants continue to recognize these individuals for their hardwork and dedication to their sport," said Dr. Roger J. Goudy, AAU President and CEO. "I am proud to have these remarkable athletes represented as finalists for this year's AAU James E. Sullivan Award."

The AAU Sullivan Award has been presented annually since 1930 to the most outstanding amateur athlete in the United States, including famed Olympians Michelle Kwan (2001), Michael Phelps (2003), Paul Hamm (2004) and Shawn Johnson (2008); University of Tennessee quarterback Peyton Manning (1997), Penn State guard John Urschel (2013); 200m backstroke world record holder Missy Franklin (2012) and University of Wisconsin setter Lauren Carlini (2016).

Voting for the award is open to the public at <u>www.aausullivan.org</u>. Finalist voting opens today and will close on Monday, March 30 at 11:59 p.m.

###

MEDIA CONTACTS: Keri Burns p: 407-828-3055

c: 407-280-5110 e: <u>kburns@aausports.org</u>