MENS BASKETBALL

HENSHEL AWARD WINNERS

The Colonel Harry D. Henshel Award was established in memory of Colonel Henshel, who was devoted to the sport of basketball. It is a trophy presented annually to the winning team in the Men's AAU National Basketball Championship. It was first awarded in 1963.

1963	Phillips "66"	1985	Brewster Packing/Brewster, WA
1964	Goodyear Wingfoots	1986	Continental-Coors/Houston, TX
1965	Armed Forces All-Stars	1987	Brewster Packing/Brewster, WA
1966	Ford Mustangs	1988	Brewster Packing/Brewster, WA
1967	Akron Goodyear	1989	U.S. Armed Forces All-Stars
1968	Armed Forces All-Stars	1990	Sam Ragnone, Attorney/Flint, MI
1969	Armed Forces All-Stars	1991	LaFayette Hustlers/Lafayette, IN
1970	Armed Forces All-Stars	1992	Sam Ragnone, Attorney/Flint, MI
1971	Armed Forces All-Stars	1993	USA Verich Reps/Warren, OH
1972	Armed Forces All-Stars	1994	M.N.S. Stars, Kansas City, MO
1973	Marathon Oil	1995	Team Pella, Des Moines, IA
1974	Jackonsville, FL AAU	1996	Bankers and Investors, Kansas City, MO
1975	Capitol Insulation/CA	1997	Marathon Basketball, Joilette, IL
1976	Athletes-In-Action/CA	1998	Pella Windows, Des Moines, IA
1977	Armed Forces All-Stars	1999	Palmer's Tornadoes, Des Moines, IA
1978	Christian Youth Center/IL	2000	Palmer's Tornadoes, Des Moines, IA
1979	Christian Youth Center/IL	2001	Shell-Widman, Elk Grove, CA
1980	Iowa City Airlines/Iowa City, IA	2002	Posse, San Jose, CA
1981	Brewster Packing/Brewster, WA	2003	Sunney's Rebels, Seattle, WA
1982	Brewster Packing/Brewster, WA	2004	Maine Lobsters, Bangor, ME
1983	Houston Flyers/Houston, TX	2005	"New Beginnings 4 Youth", Columbus OH
1984	Paulson-Dice/Las Vegas, NV		

ARNIE AIZSTRAUTS AWARD WINNERS

The Arnie Aizstrauts Team Sportsmanship Award was established in 1985 memory of Arnie Aizstrauts, a former U.S. Olympic Basketball Committee member, Regional AAU Chairman, AAU Basketball Committee member, and a strong, dedicated, and inspirational figure long associated with AAU Basketball.

1985	Lafayette Hustlers/Lafayette, IN	1996	St. Louis Sixers, St. Louis, MO
1986	Covered Wagon/Kearney, NE	1997	Pella Windos, Des Moines, IA
1987	U.S. Armed Forces/Colorado Springs, CO	1998	Tharaldson Enterprises, Fargo, ND
1988	Lafayette Hustlers/Lafayette, IN	1999	Arkansas, D-Train, Conway AK
1989	Univ of New Mexico/Gallup, NM	2000	Boiling AFB, Washington, DC
1990	Bluegrass AAU/Lafayette, KY	2001	Scottie D's, Topeka, KS
1991	Spirit Express/Memphis, TN	2002	CA Comm. College All Stars, Cerritos, CA
1992	Hughes/Carlson 1-70 /Topeka, KS	2003	H.E.A.T., Sheldon, CA
1993	Colorado Pro-Am/Denver, CIO	2004	Charleston Bombers, Charleston, WV
1994	Cook AAU/Blooming, IN	2005	Shell-Widman, Elk Grove CA
1995	Topeka Merchants, Topeka, KS		

WILLARD GREIM AWARD WINNERS

The Willard Greim Award was established to recognize distinguished service to AAU Basketball. Mr. Greim served as President of the AAU from 1944-46 and he was the only American ever to hold the President's office of FIBA (International Amateur Basketball Federation) and was elected to that post three times and served from 1948 until 1960.

LOUIS G. WILKE MEMORIAL AWARD WINNERS

In 1962, the Louis G. Wilke Memorial Award, in memory of a former AAU President and a longtime figure in amateur basketball in both this county and in the world governing body, the International Amateur Basketball Federation (FIBA), was set up as the official trophy for the Most Valuable Player of the national AAU Tournament. Listed below are the men who have been selected Most Valuable Player in the National Championships. It was first awarded in 1954.

1954	George Macuga/U.S. Army	1980	William Mayfield/Iowa City Airliners
1955	George Bales/U.S. Marine Corps	1981	Wayne Smith/Brewster Packing
1956	Jim Bond/Pasadena Mirror Glaze	1982	Billy Turner Loos/Brewster Packing
1957	Tom Meschery/San Fran Olympic Club	1983	Steve Harriel/Brewster Packing
1958	Harvey Schmidt/D-C Truckers	1984	Sam Smith/Paulson-Dice
1959	Dick Boushka/Wichita Vickers	1985	Eddie Smith/Brewster Packing
1960	Bob Boozer/Peoria Cats	1986	Ernest Patterson/Continental-Coors
1961	Horace Walker/D-C Truckers	1987	Lorenzo Romar/Brewster Packing
1962	Gary Thompson/Phillips "66"	1988	Lorenzo Romar/Brewster Packing
1963	Don Kojis/Phillips "66"	1989	Greg Kelser/Sam Ragnone, Attorney
1964	Larry Brown/Goodyear Wingfoots	1990	Greg Kelser/Sam Ragnone, Attorney
1965	Verne Benson/Armed Forces All-Stars	1991	Terry Duerod/Sam Ragnone, Attorney
1966	CazzieRussell/Ford Mustangs	1992	Terry Duerod/Sam Ragnone, Attorney
1967	Harold Sergent/Phillips "66"	1993	Darren Morningstar/USA Verich Reps
1968	Mike Barret/Armed Forces All-Stars	1994	Sean Chambers/Shell & Widman
1969	Garfield Smith/Armed Forces All-Stars	1995	Michael Born, Team Pella
1970	Michael Silliman/Armed Forces All-Stars	1996	Michael Born, Team Pella
1971	Darnell Hillman/Armed Forces All-Stars	1997	Curt Smith, Marathon Basketball, IL
1972	Richard Harris/Marion-Kay	1998	Michael Born, Pella Windows
	Sacramento, CA	1999	Rocky Walls, Palmer's Tornadoes, IA
1973	George Bryant/Marathon Oil	2000	Wayne Houston, Palmer's Tornadoes, IA
1974	Rick Coleman/Jackonsville, FL AAU	2001	Shann Ferch, Shell-Widman, CA
1975	Larry Hollifield/Capitol Insulation	2002	Brian Jones, Posse, San Jose, CA
1976	Irvin Kiffin/Athletes-In-Action	2003	Antuan Jones, Sunney's Rebels, Seattle, WA
1977	Jyrona Ralston/Armed Forces All-Stars	2004	Fred Hooks, Maine Lobsters, Bangor, ME
1978	Tim Bryant/Christian Youth Center	2005	Tony Rice, New Beginnings, Columbus OH
1979	Allen Hardy/Christian Youth Center		

HERBERT JOSEPH MOLS AWARD

In 1988, the Men's Basketball Committee established the Herbert Joseph Mols Award in his honor to recognize his many years of service and contributions to AAU Men's Basketball. He served as President and perpetual Secretary of the Niagara Association of the AAU; as the manager of the United States tam that participated in the 1971 Pan Am games; as manager of the 1972 United States Olympic Team and the 1974 team that participated in the World Championships. He was a long-standing member of the AAU Men's Basketball Committee and was also considered the "father of the Empire State Games." The award will be awarded to a participant in the AAU National Men's Championship voted as the best defensive player.

1988	Ricky Hall, Lafayette Hustlers, Lafayette, IN	1997 Willie Murdagh, Marathon Basketball
1989	David Robinson, Armed Forces All-Stars	1998 Troy Wade, Pella Windows
1990	Ricky Hall, Lafayette Hustlers, Lafayette, IN	1999 Tyler Johnson, Pella Windows
1991	Lamar Edwards, Sam Ragnone, Attorney	2000 Robert Richardson, Shell-Widman
1992	All Army Team	2001 Lossie Mitchell, Shell-Widman
1993	Lonnie Hiebert, Team Kansas	2002 Lossie Mitchell, Shell-Widman
1994	Sean Mathews, Ron Slivka, Buick, Flint, MI	2003 Lossie Mitchell, Shell-Widman
1995	Grey Ostertag, Team Kansas	2004 Donald Watts, Club Seattle
1996	Albert Thomas, St. Louis Sixers	2005 Armond Williams, HoopaZ Only